Welcome 2014, Thank you Father for 2013

Looking forward to 2014, what hopes do you have?  What dreams?  Have you chosen a New Year’s Resolution or one word for your year?  How do these relate to any goals you may be considering?  What steps will you take to allow the Holy Spirit to lead you into 2014?

 

This week started a short two week study on goals before the next Online Bible Study starts (not too late to sign up https://proverbs31.org/online-bible-studies/2010/12/15/made-to-crave-online-bible-study/) and yes the weekly blog assignment is back.  Above is the assignment for today.  My goals are simple – to let God continue with the good work that He has started. 

“And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.” Philippians 1:6  NLT

On New Year’s Day, I finished reading the Old Testament straight through so now I will move on to the New.

In 2013, I once again lost about 60 lbs.  So I will regard my body as God’s temple and respect it. I will maintain a healthy weight.

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in  you, whom you have received from God?  You are not your own; you were bought  at a price.  Therefore honor God with your body,” (1 Cor. 6:19-20).

In 2013, I worked out consistently on a regular basis even after a car accident and knee trouble.  I will continue to let God strengthen me mentally and physically with daily workouts and daily time with Him.

“I Can Do All Things Through Christ Who Strengthens Me”  Philippians 4:13

In 2013, I learned that my Spiritual Gifts were giving, serving and mercy.  I will continue to use these gifts as much as possible to bring glory to my God and I will do so with a thankful heart. 

“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.” Colossians 3:17

In 2013, I found a new church home that I love and started online bible studies.  I listened when God said to move and I went where he led. I will contine to learn more, know God more and trust Him more.  I will let go of the past.

“Forget the former things, do not dwell on the past.  See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:18-19

So yes, my goal for this year is simple –  to faithfully be still and know that he is God and let Him finish what he’s started.

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Welcome 2014, Thank you Father for 2013

  1. Cheryl, I am in the same boat with you! My word for 2014 is FINISH! I want God to finish what He has started in me so that He can start new things!! Thanks for sharing with us in The Gap!

Leave a Reply

