At The Well – How do I relate to the woman an the well

A new online bible study has begun and so a new set of weekly blogs.  Last study God really was pressing me to give him all of my heart.  There were numerous messages and lessons until I did finally give all of my heart to him.  I love my Father, God and I love all the people, experiences and gifts that he has blessed me with throughout my life.  Already in just the days since we began our new study, the messages have began asking me to step out even a little further to strengthen my faith and trust in Him. 

However for this week’s topic, we are looking at John 4 and the woman at the well.  How can I relate to the woman at the well.  Well as Renee Swope points out in “A Confident Heart”,  the Samaritan women Jesus talks to at the well is a divorced woman who comes to the well daily for water at the hottest part of the day when all the other women have come and gone.  Perhaps to avoid their discussions of their families and lives. Perhaps to avoid their disapproving looks.   Whatever the reason, she is alone and she finds Jesus waiting for her.  Jesus proceeds to tell her things about herself and admits to her that he is the Messiah.  When the disciples return to Jesus, Sam runs off and tells the town people. “Come see a man who knew all about the things I did who knows me inside and out.  Do you think this could be the Messiah?” So the towns people go to Jesus and they spend time getting to know him and they say to her.  “We’re no longer taking this on your say-so.  We’ve heard it for ourselves and know it for sure.  He’s the Savior of the world”

See her is where I really relate to Sam.  Yes, I’m divorced.  Yes, I’ve battled the shame and sense of failure that comes along with divorce.  Yes, I spend most of my time alone.  But Jesus comes to Sam and reaches out to her and tells her “If you knew me” she would be asking for what he offers.  He tells her out right who he is, that he is the Messiah, but still she doubts.  She runs and shares her experience and tells everyone.  They go experience it for themselves and they know without a doubt.  But where is Sam? Has she been hurt so much that even when the truth is staring her in the face, even when she sort of thinks He might be the one, even when he seeks her out and tells her who he is, she STILL doubts!  Where is her faith?  Where is her knowing that she can trust him? That is where I relate to Sam and that is where God is currently focusing his teachings. 

The phrase he’s locked in my mind currently – to know.  When you know something, there is no questions, you are sure of it, you have confidence in it, you have faith and trust it.  Don’t get me wrong, I believe but there isn’t a lot of confidence there.  There is hope and there is love (with all my heart) but I’m working on the faith.

The verses God has shown me or refocused me on this week:

Be still and KNOW that I am God.  – Psalm 46:10

“For I KNOW the plans I have for you” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11

Then you will KNOW that I am the Lord. Those who hope in me will not be disappointed. – Isaiah 49:23

And we KNOW that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.  – Romans 8:28

This is eternal life that they KNOW you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent.” – John 17:3

And my all time favorite and one I pray often:

Jesus says “If? There are no ‘ifs’ among believers.  Anything can happen.” No sooner were the words of his mouth than the father cried, “Then I believe.  Help my with my unbelief.”  – Mark 9:23-24

Lord, I believe.  Help me with my unbelief.  So that I may truly KNOW without a doubt or second thought. Help me to carry your Word in my heart and not just in my head. 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “At The Well – How do I relate to the woman an the well

  1. Cheryl, thank you for sharing! I liked your perspective of the woman at the well and how she still has a problem believing, even when the Truth is staring her in the face. I think we’ve ALL been in that position before, I know you are not alone in feeling that!! Thank you also for sharing the Bible verses, I especially loved the Mark 9:23-24 about there not being any if’s–it very much spoke to me today!

    Kris Danko (OBS Small Group Leader)

Leave a Reply

