A Heart at Rest

“Be Still”

My mom used to make this request when my sister and I were younger and pestering each other in the back seat.  That one request always drove me crazy because most of the time that she said it, it was ALL she said. But we were seated and not moving in the back of a car.  We were just bickering.  We were still. 

Lately this same request is one that God has come to ask of me often.  “Be still and know that I am God” Psalm 46:10

But it doesn’t frustrate me the way it did when I was a kid because I know what it means now.  It is not to physically stay in one place.  It is to quiet down the noise not only on the outside but inside us as well.  To let go of whatever is causing you not to be at peace and give it go God.  Simple because He is God.  I like to add from Isaiah 41:10 “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” So that the Psalms verse reads “Be still and know that I am your God.” He’s not just God, he is my God and your God too. 

So this last week of our current online Bible Study, we are asked – How has saying yes to God throughout this study helped you find a heart a rest? Well, it’s a work in progress but I’m learning.  This past month the schedules have geared back up in to high gear and I was managing well.  Little overwhelmed at times but as I found myself in the calendar aisle of Staples today looking at calendars for 2014 (because now of course I have events to keep up with for school, dance, girl scouts, etc that have already begun taking us in to next year). It suddenly became of the upmost importance to find the right calendar to be able to piece all these things together.  Never mind the fact that in addition to this one “purse” calendar, their is the shared google online calendar that has to be updated so that my ex husband and all the grandparents know what is going on in my daughter’s life but their is the Blackberry calendar that has to include everything as well.  There’s the work calendar and the calendar to us each year by the school, the girl scout, the dance team calendar, the custody calendar.  So you see as I looked for an hour and compared all the different types of “calendar/planners” how one would ask, where is the calendar that will make it all easy and simple? Here’s a shock – there isn’t one.

Yes it helps to have it all written and visible in one place but the answer doesn’t lie in a calendar.  It lies in being still and knowing who is God.  It lies in The Messages version of Matthew 6:34 “Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow.  God will help you deal with whatever hard times come up when the time comes.”

What this study had taught me is that when we focus on saying yes to God today that life becomes manageable.  God never intended us to focus on more that each day at a time.  Letting him fill each need and solve each problem as they come up.  Not only does God love to tell me to Be Still (I’m sure a private joke between him and my mother at this point)  but he also asks me “Is this necessary today? Does this need to be done today? Does this problem need to be solved right now?  Do you need to act right now?” And 9 out of 10 times, the answer is NO!  Boy was this a shock to me to learn after all these years and amazingly things get solved and done eventually and usually better than I would ever had imagined.  So I say yes to God and he has all my heard and my heart is at rest. 

Looking forward to the next online study.  You should sign up too!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

